Afghanistan vs. South Africa: Start time, squads, where to watch T20 World Cup semi-final

Afghanistan vs. South Africa: Start time, squads, where to watch T20 World Cup semi-final

Following a riveting three weeks of cricket which had 20 teams participate for the first time in an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, we are now down to the semi-finals.

South Africa and Afghanistan will face each other in the first semi-final match of this year’s edition on Wednesday to decide which team will be making it to the final.

While both teams have been giving stellar performances throughout the tournament, Afghanistan in particular, has been garnering acclaim for their stunning wins against titans Australia and New Zealand.

Afghanistan has won five matches of the seven they played in total while South Africa has won all seven matches it played during the tournament. Both South Africa and Afghanistan have yet to win an ICC T20 trophy.

Here’s everything you need to know about the semi-final match between the Afghanistan and South Africa during the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, including the start time, players and how to watch.

When and where is T20 World Cup 2024 semi-final match?

Afghanistan will face South Africa on Wednesday, June 26 at 8:30 p.m. ET at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago.

Afghanistan vs. South Africa: How to watch T20 semi-final match in the US

The match can be streamed exclusively on WillowTV, which is also available via streamers like Fubo and Sling.

Fans can also stream the game across devices on the Cricbuzz app, while the live score will be available to view on the Cricbuzz website.

Scorecards, match highlights and behind-the-scenes footage will also be available for fans to view on Live radio commentary will be available from BBC on the ICC website and app.

Afghanistan team for 2024 T20 World Cup

The Afghanistan squad includes:

  • Rashid Khan (captain)
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Ibrahim Zadran
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Azmatullah Omarzai
  • Gulbadin Naib
  • Karim Janat
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Mohammad Ishaq
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Fareed Ahmad
  • Fazalhaq Farooqi
  • Nangeyalia Kharote
  • Naveen-ul-Haq
  • Noor Ahmad

South Africa team for 2024 T20 World Cup

  • Aiden Markram (captain)
  • David Miller
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Tristan Stubbs
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Marco Jansen
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Ryan Rickelton
  • Anrich Nortje
  • Bjorn Fortuin
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Ottneil Baartman
  • Tabraiz Shamsi

We occasionally recommend interesting products and services. If you make a purchase by clicking one of the links, we may earn an affiliate fee. USA TODAY Network newsrooms operate independently, and this doesn’t influence our coverage.

Saman Shafiq is a trending news reporter for USA TODAY. Reach her at and follow her on X @saman_shafiq7.

Related Articles