Tour de France standings, results: Belgium’s Jasper Philipsen prevails in Stage 10

Tour de France standings, results: Belgium’s Jasper Philipsen prevails in Stage 10


After their first rest day on Monday, the world’s best cyclists returned to the road Tuesday for Stage 10 of the 2024 Tour de France.  A flat 116.4-mile ride from Orléans to Saint-Amand-Montrond, the stage culminated in a classic sprint finish that saw Belgium’s Jasper Philipsen finally win his first stage of the 111th edition of the Tour. 

Philipsen’s victory followed several runner-up performances last week, including a demotion for deviating from his line during Stage 6’s sprint finish. 

“Last week was an endless week for us with some bad luck,” Philipsen said after his win. “It’s a big relief that we can finally show our strength.” 

This victory marked Philipsen’s seventh career Tour de France stage win.

Philipsen’s Alpecin-Deceuninck teammate Mathieu van der Poel led the sprint out of the peloton, setting up Philipsen to edge out Eritrean sprinter Biniam Girmay.

A runner-up finish for Girmay — who triumphed in Stages 3 and 8 — was enough to retain his lead in the points classification for a sixth straight stage. 

The top 10 general classification leaders remain unchanged as Slovenia’s Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) holds onto his yellow jersey. Tomorrow’s mountain stage, a 131-mile route from Évaux-Les-Bains to Le Lioran, is set to shake things up as Pogačar will look to extend his lead by replicating his dominant stage 4 win.

Here’s a full look at the 2024 Tour de France standings after 10 days of competition.

Tour de France Stage 10 results

Position Rider Times Gap
1 Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) 04h 20′ 06”
2 Biniam Girmay (Intermarché – Wanty) 04h 20′ 06”
3 Pascal Ackermann (Israel – Premier Tech) 04h 20′ 06”
4 Wout van Aert (Visma-Lease a Bike) 04h 20′ 06”
5 Fernando Gaviria (Movistar) 04h 20′ 06”
6 Sam Bennett (Decathlon–AG2R La Mondiale) 04h 20′ 06”
7 John Degenkolb (Team DSM–Firmenich PostNL) 04h 20′ 06”
8 Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain Victorious) 04h 20′ 06”
9 Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jayco–AlUla) 04h 20′ 06”
10 Axel Zingle (Cofidis) 04h 20′ 06”

TOUR DE FRANCE: Recap, results and standings after Stage 9

Tour de France general classification standings after Stage 10

Position Rider Times Gap
1 Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) 40h 02′ 48”
2 Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep) 40h 03′ 21” + 00h 00′ 33”
3 Jonas Vingegaard (Visma-Lease a Bike) 40h 04′ 03” + 00h 01′ 15”
4 Primoz Roglic (Red Bull-BORA-hansgrohe) 40h 04′ 24” + 00h 01′ 36”
5 Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) 40h 05′ 04” + 00h 02′ 16”
6 Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) 40h 05′ 05” + 00h 02′ 17”
7 Carlos Rodriguez (INEOS Grenadiers) 40h 05′ 19” + 00h 02′ 31”
8 Mikel Landa (Soudal Quick-Step) 40h 06′ 23” + 00h 03′ 35”
9 Derek Gee (Israel – Premier Tech) 40h 06′ 50” + 00h 04′ 02”
10 Matteo Jorgenson (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) 40h 06′ 51” + 00h 04′ 03”

Tour de France jersey standings after Stage 10

  • Yellow (general classification): Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates)
  • Green (points classification): Biniam Girmay (Intermarché – Wanty)
  • Polka dot (mountains classification): Jonas Abrahamsen (Uno-X Mobility)
  • White (young rider classification): Remco Evenepoel (Soudal-QuickStep)
  • Yellow numbers (teams classification)UAE Team Emirates
  • Golden numbers (combativity award): Kobe Goossens (Intermarché – Wanty)

Tour de France Stage 11: How to watch, schedule, distance

Date: Wednesday, July 10, 2024

Location: Évaux-Les-Bains to Le Lioran (France)

Distance: 131 miles (211 km)

Type: Mountain stage 

Streaming: Peacock, FuboTV

We occasionally recommend interesting products and services. If you make a purchase by clicking one of the links, we may earn an affiliate fee. USA TODAY Network newsrooms operate independently, and this doesn’t influence our coverage.

The USA TODAY app gets you to the heart of the news — fast. Download for award-winning coverage, crosswords, audio storytelling, the eNewspaper and more.

Related Articles