Who’s in the field for the 2024 US Open golf championship?

Who’s in the field for the 2024 US Open golf championship?

World No. 1 and reigning Masters champion Scottie Scheffler leads the field as the 124th U.S. Open golf championship gets underway Thursday at North Carolina’s Pinehurst Resort.

A total of 156 players will tee it up with more than half of the field made up of golfers who have received automatic spots based on their world ranking, a previous tournament victory, their place in various tour standings or a special exemption.

Fifteen-time major champion Tiger Woods is in the last category after getting the official invite from the USGA last month.

The rest of the field is comprised of players who have made it through the rigorous annual qualifying process.

When is the US Open golf tournament?

The U.S. Open will be June 13-16, 2024, at the historic No. 2 course at Pinehurst Resort and C.C.

Is Tiger Woods playing in the US Open?

After finishing last in the Masters and missing the cut at the PGA Championship, Tiger Woods will be in search of his 16th major title when he tees it up at this year’s U.S. Open thanks to a special exemption from the USGA.

It will mark the first time since 2020 that Woods will be playing in the U.S. Open, a tournament he’s won three times previously.

While the PGA Championship and Masters offer lifetime exemptions to past champions, the U.S. Open does not. Woods is currently No. 829 in the Offical World Golf Ranking, and a five-year exemption from his 2019 Masters victory has run out.

Who is in the field for the US Open?

The 156-player field for the 2024 U.S. Open, in alphabetical order (a-amateur):

  • Byeong-Hun An, Republic of Korea
  • Ludvig Åberg, Sweden
  • Sam Bairstow, England
  • Parker Bell (a), United States
  • Sam Bennett, United States
  • Daniel Berger, United States
  • Christiaan Bezuidenhout, South Africa
  • Akshay Bhatia, United States
  • Otto Black, United States
  • Zac Blair, United States
  • Keegan Bradley, United States
  • Gunnar Broin (a), United States
  • Jackson Buchanan (a), United States
  • Dean Burmester, South Africa
  • Sam Burns, United States
  • Brian Campbell, United States
  • Patrick Cantlay, United States
  • Frankie Capan III, United States
  • John Chin, United States
  • Luke Clanton (a), United States
  • Wyndham Clark, United States
  • Eric Cole, United States
  • Corey Conners, Canada
  • Cam Davis, Australia
  • Jason Day, Australia
  • Santiago De la Fuente (a), Mexico
  • Bryson DeChambeau, United States
  • Thomas Detry, Belgium
  • Nick Dunlap, United States
  • Nico Echavarria, Colombia
  • Austin Eckroat, United States
  • Harris English, United States
  • Tony Finau, United States
  • Matt Fitzpatrick, England
  • Tommy Fleetwood, England
  • Grant Forrest, Scotland
  • Rickie Fowler, United States
  • Ryan Fox, New Zealand
  • Sergio Garcia, Spain
  • Lucas Glover, United States
  • Max Greyserman, United States
  • Emiliano Grillo, Argentina
  • Chesson Hadley, United States
  • Adam Hadwin, Canada
  • Stewart Hagestad (a), United States
  • Brian Harman, United States
  • Tyrrell Hatton, England
  • Russell Henley, United States
  • Jim Herman, United States
  • Harry Higgs, United States
  • Rico Hoey, Philippines
  • Tom Hoge, United States
  • Nicolai Højgaard, Denmark
  • Max Homa, United States
  • Billy Horschel, United States
  • Rikuya Hoshino, Japan
  • Beau Hossler, United States
  • Viktor Hovland, Norway
  • Mark Hubbard, United States
  • Mackenzie Hughes, Canada
  • Sungjae Im, Republic of Korea
  • Ryo Ishikawa, Japan
  • Stephan Jaeger, Germany
  • Benjamin James (a), United States
  • Casey Jarvis, South Africa
  • Carter Jenkins, United States
  • Dustin Johnson, United States
  • Takumi Kanaya, Japan
  • Sung Kang, Republic of Korea
  • Riki Kawamoto, Japan
  • Martin Kaymer, Germany
  • Si Woo Kim, Republic of Korea
  • Tom (Joohyung) Kim, Republic of Korea
  • Bryan Kim (a), United States
  • S.H. (Syeonghyeon) Kim, Republic of Korea
  • Chris Kirk, United States
  • Kurt Kitayama, United States
  • Frederik Kjettrup, Denmark
  • Jake Knapp, United States
  • Brooks Koepka, United States
  • Ben Kohles, United States
  • Matt Kuchar, United States
  • Min Woo Lee, Australia
  • Eugenio Lopez Chacarra, Spain
  • Justin Lower, United States
  • Shane Lowry, Republic of Ireland
  • Robert MacIntyre, Scotland
  • Willie Mack III, United States
  • Peter Malnati, United States
  • Matteo Manassero, Italy
  • Richard Mansell, England
  • Hideki Matsuyama, Japan
  • Logan McAllister, United States
  • Denny McCarthy, United States
  • Ashton McCulloch (a), Canada
  • Michael McGowan, United States
  • Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland
  • Tom McKibbin, Northern Ireland
  • Mac Meissner, United States
  • Adrian Meronk, Poland
  • Phil Mickelson, United States
  • Maxwell Moldovan, United States
  • Francesco Molinari, Italy
  • Edoardo Molinari, Italy
  • Taylor Moore, United States
  • Omar Morales (a), Mexico
  • Collin Morikawa, United States
  • Chris Naegel, United States
  • Alex Noren, Sweden
  • Matthieu Pavon, France
  • Taylor Pendrith, Canada
  • Victor Perez, France
  • Chris Petefish, United States
  • J.T. Poston, United States
  • Seamus Power, Republic of Ireland
  • Colin Prater (a), United States
  • David Puig, Spain
  • Jon Rahm, Spain
  • Aaron Rai, England
  • Charles Reiter, United States
  • Brandon Robinson Thompson, England
  • Robert Rock, England
  • Justin Rose, England
  • Isaiah, Salinda, United States
  • Gordon Sargent (a), United States
  • Carson Schaake, United States
  • Xander Schauffele, United States
  • Scottie Scheffler, United States
  • Adam Schenk, United States
  • Adam Scott, Australia
  • Jason Scrivener, Australia
  • Taisei Shimizu, Japan
  • Neal Shipley (a), United States
  • Greyson Sigg, United States
  • Webb Simpson, United States
  • Cameron Smith, Australia
  • Jordan Spieth, United States
  • Sepp Straka, Austria
  • Adam Svensson, Canada
  • Andrew Svoboda, United States
  • Hiroshi Tai (a), Singapore
  • Nick Taylor, Canada
  • Sahith Theegala, United States
  • Justin Thomas, United States
  • Davis Thompson, United States
  • Brendon Todd, United States
  • Brendan Valdes (a), United States
  • Erik Van Rooyen, South Africa
  • Joey Vrzich, United States
  • Tim Widing, Sweden
  • Wells Williams (a), United States
  • Gary Woodland, United States
  • Tiger Woods, United States
  • Brandon Wu, United States
  • Cameron Young, United States
  • Will Zalatoris, United States

Who won the 2023 US Open?

Wyndham Clark, who had just one PGA Tour win to his name entering the 2023 U.S. Open golf championship at Los Angeles Country Club, held off Rory McIlroy to earn his first major title.

Clark, 29, fired an even-par 70 to finish the tournament at 10-under, one stroke ahead of McIlroy and five shots ahead of third-round co-leader Rickie Fowler. 

Related Articles